The School Subjects Tag!

I was very busy during the last several weeks since I had to finish up some papers for college, and when I had some time off, it happened to be during the Chinese New Year celebration. This resulted in me not being able to provide updates ๐Ÿ˜ฆ (though I should have probably given a statement of sort…), but it should be fine now! ๐Ÿ˜€

I got tagged in this School Subjects Tag by Notsomoderngirl a few weeks ago, and I’m going to do it since it seems fun! I should have done it waaaaaay earlier, but due to the reasons mentioned above, I simply couldn’t……anyways, here goes! XD

1. Maths- Whatโ€™s a book that left your head spinning in circles

I know this might not be all that believable for some people, but personally, “Sophie’s World” by Jostein Gaarder  is the most confusing book for me so far. While reading it, I was like reading a Philosophy textbook with a plot with an incredibly slow pacing. Now, some of you might say that “this is MEANT to be a book to study philosophy!”, but I do know that. I heard that it is a good, nice, engaging literature to study philosophy, that’s why I picked it up. Nevertheless, after more than a hundred pages, what started out as an interesting, comprehensible book or story transformed into one driving me scratching my head in confusion before deciding to postpone the reading….but believe me, I will return to it soon! ๐Ÿ˜€

2. English- Which book do you think has beautiful written expression?

Okay, this would require me to crack open the spine of some books I own (my memory is nowhere near eidetic, so I can’t really remember things in an exact manner), and I am currently far away from my cherished books. Therefore, I am going to vaguely recall the book that delivered the most aesthetic form of literary expression without looking at them again (since I can’t). Haruki Murakami’s “Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage” is my choice here, since there are numerous artistic metaphors which are not only beautiful, but also relevant and in some cases, explained.

3. Physics- Who is your favourite scientifically minded character from a book/film?

Now this is hard since the books I have read rarely involves such character…..but I would name Mr. Curtain or Ledroptha Curtain from “The Mysterious Benedict Society” by Trenton Lee Stewart. I plan to re-read it soon since I have forgotten most of the story, but I do remember Mr. Curtain’s genius, entertaining villainy, and his principle of not being influenced by his personal emotions.

4. Chemistry- Who is your favourite literary couple?

For now, I am in the mainstream category since I choose Percy Jackson and Annabeth Chase from the “Percy Jackson” and “Heroes of Olympus” series by Rick Riordan. Having read them a long time ago, I still remember the excitement of their adventures and the joy I felt when the two got into a relationship XD . Ah, the good ol’ days of Percabeth…

5. Biology- Who is your favourite book/film/series character?

It would be Holden Caulfield from J. D. Salinger’s “The Catcher in the Rye”. He relates to me in so many levels that I can see myself understanding his behaviors and doing the things he do. The only difference between me and him is that he actually does those things, while I keep them inside my mind….

6. French- What is your favourite foreign book/film/programme?

English is not my native language, so I believe English books count? ๐Ÿ˜› . I would say “The Metamorphosis” by Franz Kafka is my favorite one. It was translated from German to English, and I am going to review it soon here!

7. Art- Have you ever judged a book by its cover, even if you werenโ€™t meant to?!

Yes, a lot of times XD . I prefer one where I would enjoy seeing the cover of since I value books differently, and the most recent one was James Joyce’s “Ulysses”. I haven’t seen a cover that I like of the book since the only copies I found were of Wordsworth Classics, which the covers I am not really keen on having.

8. History- What was the last historical book you read?

I still haven’t read any historical novels, I believe….but the last historical textbook I read was “A History of the English Language” by Elly van Gelderen ๐Ÿ˜› .

9. Geography- Which literary destination would you really like to visit? (They can be real or fictional!)

I would like to visit the Gardam Street, from “The Penderwicks on Gardam Street” by Jeanne Birdsall. The life there seems to be really simple and peaceful, with occasional fun and drama going on. Being able to meet the Penderwicks family would be nice, too! Their unique attitudes and innocence are extremely rare in the life nowadays…

10. Drama- Whatโ€™s a book that you think has a lot of over-dramatic hype?

I hope this is allowed. I would say E. L. James’ “Fifty Shades of Grey”. A few years back, everyone started to talk about it, and this hype was perpetuated by the movie release. After reading the book without watching the movie, I didn’t think it was all that interesting, and there are more M-rated books better than this…again, though, this is just my personal opinion ๐Ÿ˜ .

My nominations:

TheCrackedSpineBlog

Renate@popcornandfilm

The Nutty Book Blogger

abooknation

I am finishing “The Metamorphosis and Other Stories” by Franz Kafka and will be reviewing it soon! ๐Ÿ˜€

3 thoughts on “The School Subjects Tag!

Leave a Reply

