The Cookie Book Tag!

Cookie

Good day, everyone! I’m still preparing for the college exams coming in July, so I’m still yet to finish a book…I know it’s been a month or two or even more, but these exams and upcoming thesis need to be dealt with caution *sighs* . Anyways, I have a bit of time today, so I decided to do a tag tagged to me! 🙂

I was tagged by the lovely Duskangelreads (blogs about books are never to be neglected!) and the original tag was created by Sorry I’m Booked.  As book lovers, please give them a look if you want, and you might just discover new things or participate in the discussions 🙂 . Now then, the tag!

The Rules (I’ll be copying these from the post tagged to me):

  • In addition to linking back to the person who tagged you, it would be awesome if you link back to Nicole’s original post!
  • Pick a book that corresponds to the cookie’s ‘theme’.
  • Have fun!
  • Tag 1-3 people.

The Cookies

Chocolate Chip: A Classic Book That You Love or Really Enjoyed

Blog83

I love lots of classics (though not all of the ones I’ve read XD ). If I have to choose one, for me, it would be J. D. Salinger’s  The Catcher in the Rye . I find that the character Holden Caulfield is just a unique one among the seas of classics available, although not all people view him in a positive light.

 

Thin Mints: A Fandom That You Really Want to ‘Join’ AND/OR a Hyped-Up Book You Want To Read

percy1 percy2

I plan to re-read the Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus series, since it’s been years, so I have forgotten most of them 😛 . I also plan to get into the Grisha world, but when I have enough money to buy all of them XD (currently, I only have the crows duology on my shelf, waiting to be read).

 

Shortbread: An Author You Can’t Get Enough Of

gaiman

Hmm, this is tough…I think it would be Neil Gaiman, since his stories are just so captivating for me, and his style is easily understandable, too!

 

Samoas/ Caramel DeLites: An Emotional Rollercoaster

blog152

I would pick Marissa Meyer’s Heartless since that YA book provides me with a number of annoyances, delights, and sadness on multiple occasions. I know the outcome already, and I’m sure everybody does since the blurb and even the cover on some editions give it away, but still…

 

Oreos: A Book Whose Cover Was Better Than The Story OR Vice Versa, Where The Story Was Better Than Its Cover

blog129

I would choose Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage. The cover promotes simplicity and it is simply gorgeous and meaningful. The story is nice and all, but it is somehow anticlimactic (which is how realism should be according to some, I know, but it could have been better), and although I am somewhat satisfied with the book, I can’t help but it’s missing something…perhaps it’s just me, though 🙂 .

 

Tagalongs/ Peanut Butter Patties: A Book That Wasn’t What You Expected

Blog116

Definitely FOE by J. M. Coetzee. At first, I thought it would emphasize on a dramatic storyline, but it turned out that it was more about a discourse regarding authorship and, if looked deeper, about truths and fabrications, as well as notions about post-colonialism. I didn’t think it would be this serious, and I didn’t think I would enjoy it as much, too!

 

Snickerdoodles: A Book You May Never Stop Rereading/ Loving

9780451532008_AliceinWond_CV.indd

I won’t stop loving all my books, actually, since I saved up a long time before buying them, so they are all special to me. Still, if I have to pick one, it would be Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-glass . That book is just lovely! I like nonsensical stuff, and Carroll presents the absurdist world neatly! I love it so much I’m turning it into a thesis XD (if everything goes well, that is).

 

Oatmeal Raisin: An Awful Surprise

Sophie

This is another difficult one… I have been including this book in a lot of tags, but again, it would be Sophie’s World by Jostein Gaarder. It’s nice, but it gets too confusing for me. It was supposed to be a thought-provoking read, but I think I ponder not on the philosophy, but the meaning of the sentences since they are a bit too complicated for me. I’ll come back for you in a few months!

That’s all for the tag! I tag:

Book Princess Reviews

Olga’s Oddish Obsession

The Bookish Wanderer

I hope you haven’t done this before! Thanks again for the tag, and for those reading this post, I would like to say thank you very much! I really appreciate all of you 😀

14 thoughts on “The Cookie Book Tag!

    • TheAliceFan says:

      You’re welcome! Yeah, the development is nice, although it can a bit too rushed at the end, I still think it is nicely executed 🙂

      If you decide to participate in the tag, I can’t wait to read your answers 😀

      Like

  1. Melissa Gibbs says:

    This is such a cute tag, I love the questions…cookies may or may not be my weakness xD Thanks for tagging me, can’t wait to do it! I seriously need to read Percy Jackson too, I actually enjoyed the movies so I’d be into the books as well I think.

    Liked by 2 people

    • TheAliceFan says:

      You’re welcome! And cookies are always nice XD

      Please do read them, you’ll love it! The books (as most book-lovers claim) are better than the movies in my opinion, and I’m being objective here, trust me 😀

      I’ll be eagerly waiting for your answer 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. 924COLLECTIVE says:

    Great Post!
    My nephew is obsessed with the Percy Jackson books,
    so I had to give them a whirl. I liked the first series but
    the SECOND series is my favorite. Seeing a young
    intelligent Native American Heroine in Piper McLean
    was SO REFRESHING! Big up to Rick for including a
    fantastic & diverse cast for his second outing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • TheAliceFan says:

      Yes! More diversity can mean more beneficial development, even one outside of the realm of fiction! 🙂

      I was occupied after reading the House of Hades, resulting in the final book sitting on my shelf for a year (yes, I’m sorry…), so I plan to re-read everything.

      Thank you for the wonderful comment! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

